Darjeeling - Malda brings big disappointments for TMC

Trinamool Congress party flag
Mamata Banerjee and her Trinamool Congress party may have secured 211 seats overall, but Malda and Darjeeling districts have come as big disappointments as the Trinamool could not wrest even a single seat amid a strong Left-Congress alliance.
Of the 12 seats in Malda, the Left-Congress alliance won 11 while the BJP bagged the remaining seat. And in Darjeeling district, the Gorkha Janmukti Morcha won all the three hill seats, in Darjeeling, Kalimpong and Kurseong, the Congress bagged the Matigara-Naxalbari and Phansidewa seats, while the CPM emerged victorious from Siliguri.
CPM candidate Ashok Bhattacharya defeated TMC candidate Baichung Bhutia by 14,072 votes. He got 78,054 votes while Baichung garnered 63,982 votes. In Matigara-Naxalbari constituency, Congress candidate Shankar Malakar defeated the TMC’s Amar Sinha by 18,627 votes. Malakar got 86,441 votes compared to Sinha’s 67,814.
Gautam Deb, the North Bengal Development Department minister and TMC candidate from Dabgram-Fulbari constituency, vanquished archrival Dilip Singh of the CPM by a huge margin of 23,811 votes. Deb polled 1,05,769 votes while Singh managed just 81,958. In Phansidewa, Sunil Kumar Tirkey of the Congress defeated TMC candidate Carolus Lakra by 6,929 votes.
Ashok Bhattacharya's 'Siliguri Model' has worked once again in his favour after the twin victories of the CPM in the Siliguri Municipal Corporation and Siliguri Mahakuma Parishad elections. It is a great comeback for him as he had had to face defeat in 2011 at the hands of TMC candidate Rudranath Bhattacharya by 5,006 votes.
After the results were out, Bhattacharya said, "I thank all the people of Siliguri for their love and affection and for giving me an opportunity again to work for them. This is the people's victory and I hope the state government will cooperate with me for the development of Siliguri and north Bengal."
Meanwhile, Gautam Deb said, "Our chief minister's ‘Maa Mati Manush’ slogan has helped us win this election; the people have announced their verdict as the chief minister has always remained with them in difficult times. The general public including the media were being misguided by the Opposition, but we have come out with an absolute majority and with a much better result than the last election."
Congress veteran Shankar Malakar, the winning candidate from Matigara-Naxalbari constituency, said, "My responsibilities have grown once again with the people giving me another opportunity to work for them."
Sunil Kumar Tirkey from Phansidewa constituency assured his constituency of providing better education, health benefits and drinking water facilities. He said, "Phansidewa has always remained backward with schools without sufficient teachers, hospitals without doctors and inadequate drinking water facilities. If the state government supports us without indulging in political games, my constituency will surely benefit."
Breakdown of results:
Ashok Bhattacharya (CPM) – 78,054 votes
Baichung Bhutia (TMC) – 63,982 votes
Gita Chatterjee (BJP) – 19,300 votes
Rabindra Rai (Gorkha Rashtriya Congress) - 924 votes
Haridas Thakur (Bahujan Samaj Party) - 832 votes
Mahendra Kumar Jain (Jharkhand Mukti Morcha) - 618 votes
md. Zafar Iqbal (Independent) - 499 votes
Vishwajeet Chatterji (Amra Bangalee) - 491 votes
Tanmay Dutta (SUCI) - 439 votes
Dasarath Karmakar (Akhil Bharat Hindu Mahasabha) - 334 votes

Shankar Malakar (Congress) – 86,441 votes
Amar Sinha (TMC) – 67,814 votes
Anandamoy Barman (BJP) – 44,625
Bidur Barman (Kamatapur People’s Party [United]) – 2,464 votes
Sudip Mandal (Bahujan Samaj Party) – 1,849 votes
Goutam Kirtania (Independent) – 1,739 votes
Kshitish Chandra Roy (SUCI) -1,138 votes
NOTA – 3,307 votes

Gautam Deb (TMC) -1,05,769 votes
Dilip Singh (CPM) -81,958
Rathindra Bose (BJP) – 26,195 votes
Subhas Biswas (Independent) – 2,180
Sanjiban Sarkar (Bahujan Samaj Party) – 1,409
Abul Kashem (SUCI) -1,017 votes
Dulal Sarkar (Amra Bangalee) - 914 votes

Sunil Chandra Tirkey (Congress) – 73,158 votes
Carolus Lakra (TMC) – 66,084 votes
Durga Murmu (BJP) – 32,894 votes
Jameson Tirkey (Independent) – 2,072 votes
Lalu Oraon (CPIML)  - 1,596
Bikash Birju (Bahujan Mukti Party) – 1,474 votes
Sushil Lakra (Independent) – 1,373 votes

Source: EOI

Share news to: