Trending Vids

Election Commission transfers DM, SP, 13 police officers

Election Commission of India
The Election Commission on Friday transferred the district magistrate of South 24 Parganas PB Salim, superintendent of police of North 24-Parganas Tanmay Roy Chowdhury and 13 police officers of the rank of officer-in-charge and circle inspector for their alleged bias towards the ruling Trinamul Congress. North 24-Parganas will go to the poll in the fourth phase on 25 April and South 24-Parganas in the fifth phase on 30 April.
Salim has been replaced by Avanindra Singh, commissioner, school education department, while E Annappa,superintendent of railway police in Siliguri, has replaced  Roy Chowdhury. The OCs and ICs transferred are from thanas, including Raidighi, Tollygunge, Tufangunj, Bongaon, Bhadreswar , Naihati , Barrackpore, Haroa ,Dum Dum,Ashokenagar, Jagacha , Dinhata and New Town. Dibyendu Sarkar, additional chief electoral officer, said the ECI had directed the CEO to transfer the two officers to nonelection posts and the letter was also sent to the chief secretary.
The transfers were made with immediate effect. EC observers had sent reports to the commission following which it was decided to remove the officers. The EC has already removed around 40 officers including Kolkata police commissioner Rajeev Kumar, DM of Hooghly, SPs of South Dinajpur, Malda, Nadia , Birbhum ,Burdwan and two district election officers.
The CPI-M and the Congress welcomed the transfers 'We are constrained to welcome the transfers of IAS and IPS officers by the EC which, we think, had no other option', said CPIM politburo member Md Selim,MP. However, such transfer decisions should have been taken much earlier, he added. Md Selim said that EC actions might have sent a strong message to those 'still servile to the Kalighat instructions' and this would definitely have a direct impact on the administration, as a whole, 'which is dominated by corrupt officers'. The BJP sent a letter to the ECI alleging that the state CEO office had virtually become Trinamul Congress' party office. Jayprakash Majumder, BJP leader said that several instances established the charge.
"Why action was taken so late against Trinamul leader Anubrata Mandal? How could Anwar Khan, Trinamul leader, escape even when under police surveillance, after throwing such abusive words against ECI ?" he asked. Criticising the decision of the Election Commission to transfer the DM and SP and other officials, West Bengal chief minister said they were good and competent officers, yet the Commission chose to remove them. Meanwhile, the TMC on Friday asked the Election Commission to restrict the media from broadcasting any programme of Narada news editor-inchief Mathew Samuel. In its complaint before the EC the party said since the Narada sting operation is now subjudice and is also referred to the Lok Sabha Ethics Committee no broadcast should be allowed.(SNS)

Share news to:

No comments:

Leave a Reply

We love to hear from you! What's on your mind?