Trending Vids

Two GJM MLAs Trilok Dewan, Rohit Sharma resign from Bengal assembly

Bimal Gurung with MLAs Trilok Dewan, Rohit Sharma, Harka Bahadur Chettri
Kolkata, September 21, Two Gorkha Janmukti Morcha (GJM) MLAs, Trilok Dewan and Rohit Sharma, out of the total three today tendered their resignations as members of West Bengal assembly.

Dewan, GJM MLA from Darjeeling constituency, submitted his resignation to Speaker Biman Banerjee in his chamber.

Later the speaker told the house that Dewan's resignation has been accepted.

Dewan told reporters in the assembly premises that he had also resigned from the party as well due to the autocratic nature of GJM's top leadership.

Sharma, who is Kurseong MLA, attended the morning session of the House. He rose from his seat holding a placard and said he was resigning due to excessive interference of West Bengal government in the affairs of Gorkha Territorial Administration (GTA).

He alleged that GTA was not being allowed to function properly by the state government, which, he said, was also not listening to the voice of the people of the hills.

When Sharma was approaching the Speaker's chair to submit his papers, he was told to give them in Banerjee's chamber.

Sharma later told newsmen that the state government was dividing the Gorkha community for forming boards for Lepchas, Bhutias and Sherpas.

He said his party would not deviate from the demand of a separate Gorkhaland state, which was a part of the GTA pact signed in 2011.

The GJM had on September 12 announced that its three MLAs would resign to protest the alleged non-cooperation of the state government with the GTA. —PTI

Also Read Kalimpong MLA Harka Bahadur Chetri quiting Gorkha Janamukti Morcha

Share news to:

No comments:

Leave a Reply

We love to hear from you! What's on your mind?