Bengal unit of AAP merges with BJP

Bengal unit of AAP merges with BJP
The Bengal unit of the Aam Admi Party with all its leaders and workers formally merged with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) at a programme here today.

''There is no existence of Aam Admi Party from today in Bengal. We are welcoming the AAP for joining our party and now all its leaders and workers will work under the banner of the saffron party,'' BJP state unit President Rahul Sinha told mediapersons.

The AAP, which had opened its unit in West Bengal after the party's spectacular victory in Delhi Assembly elections last year, contested four seats in the recently held Lok Sabha elections, but all the candidates forfeited their deposits.

''We have joined the AAP without any interest. We want to serve the people, the opportunity of which we did not get in our previous party,'' AAP senior leader Mehmood Jafri said. A moderate stream of people joining the BJP continued in the state with senior Congress leader Deokinandan Poddar also joining the bandwagon along with his son Manoj. A former MLA, Mr Poddar was elected to the state Assembly for seven terms. Mr Sinha also informed that an another senior leader of the Bengal Congress, Mr Pradip Ghosh, would join the BJP next week.

The party claimed that many eminent persons were joining the BJP in the state as they felt that the country would take a turn for the better under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Criticising the Trinamool Congress government for doing away with the system of online admission to colleges, Mr Sinha said the party's youth front Yuva Morcha today staged demonstration in front of the office of Education Minister Partha Chatterjee and also across the state demanding reinstatement of online system in the state. He also said the BJP's two-day state committee meeting would be held from tomorrow where the party would discuss among other things, the issues relating to its increasing strength, movement against the state government and the development work for the people.

BJP's central leaders Ramlal and Siddharth Nath Singh will be present at the state committee meeting, Mr Sinha said.

--UNI (Posted on 06-06-2014)

Share news to: